IELTS Scoring system

The IELTS scoring system is designed to measure a person’s English language proficiency on a scale from 0 to 9. This scale is known as the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) and it is used internationally to assess language ability.

For each of the four sections of the IELTS exam (Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking), a score is awarded ranging from 0 to 9. These four scores are then averaged to produce an overall band score. For example, if a person receives a score of 6 in Listening, 7 in Reading, 6 in Writing, and 7 in Speaking, their overall band score will be 6.5.

The band score is rounded up or down to the nearest half band. For example, a score of 6.25 would be rounded down to 6, while a score of 6.75 would be rounded up to 7.

The band score indicates a person’s level of English language proficiency as follows:

  • Band score 9: Expert user
  • Band score 8: Very good user
  • Band score 7: Good user
  • Band score 6: Competent user
  • Band score 5: Modest user
  • Band score 4: Limited user
  • Band score 3: Extremely limited user
  • Band score 2: Intermittent user
  • Band score 1: Non-user
  • Band score 0: Did not attempt the test

The band score is used by educational institutions, employers, and government organizations to assess a person’s language proficiency and determine their eligibility for academic programs, employment, and immigration purposes.